The kind of seamstress I am…

I was never a really patient girl.. So you can ask yourself why the hell did I take up sewing..

Frankly, because I was bored πŸ™‚ I had just moved about an hour and a half away from any of my relatives and friends (that’s what you get for finding the love of your life the other side of the country) and I didn’t know what to do. Β I’m not sporty, so joining a gym didn’t seem a good idea. I love my family-in-law but I didn’t want to see them everyday and I love reading, but even that gets boring.

I had 8 weeks of summer break coming up, since I’m a teacher and didn’t have a permanent school yet… So I just had to wait until schools re-opened before I could find/look for a new job. I was never really good at staying home, when I was a student I used to work for 2 months during summer just to have something to do…

So I decided to take up sewing. I love it but…

  • I’ve got zero patience, so everything needs to be finished before I’ve even started it.
  • I’m addicted to fabric, so I buy loads and then I don’t know what to do with it.
  • I want to make every pattern I see, which resulted in an entire drawer of untouched patterns.
  • I’m lazy and I hate copying patterns on pattern paper, but I don’t want to cut up my pattern either. So if something was too big or too small, I just left it that way.
  • I hate it when my house is a mess, but I hate to clean up after myself as well, so my sewing gear was all over the place, all the time.

I’m getting better at everything…

  • The patience is not a problem anymore as long as the pattern has a decent explanation… If not, I go crazy and chuck the lot.
  • I’m still addicted to fabric and I’m afraid that’s not going to change. I have an immense (antique) trunk and it’s filled up already, but I just keep stuffing fabric in there.
  • I’ve stopped buying patterns I don’t like 100% or the ones that come without decent explanation… So the drawer is still full, but it isn’t expanding into other drawers.
  • I’m still not fond of copying patterns so I just might put them on the copy machine and cut them out like that… Seems easier anyway!
  • I decided that I didn’t need a desk to work (yes, I do but a place to sew was more important), so now I have a neat little sewing corner and I can leave my mess there and just put a folding screen in front of it πŸ™‚ Mess is still there but not visible to visitors πŸ™‚ Love the compromise.

    My mother gave this to me for my birthday, since she didn't have any place to put it and it has been in the familie for 75 years. I tried to dust it off, but the paint started coming off, so I just left it the way it was.
    My mother gave this to me for my birthday, since she didn’t have any room to put it and it has been in the family for 75 years. I tried to dust it off, but the paint started coming off, so I just left it the way it was.
My own personal sewing space. I'm comfortable like that, only need my dining table to cut fabric. When we move, my boyfriend promised me an entire room :) I feel very installed with my sewing machine and the serger I got from my parents and godparents for my birthday... And the mannequin my boyfriend got me for my birthday as well :) It makes life so much easier!
My own personal sewing space. I’m quite comfortable like that, only need my dining room table to cut fabric. When we move, my boyfriend promised me an entire room πŸ™‚ I feel very installed with my sewing machine and the serger I got from my parents and godparents for my birthday… And the mannequin my boyfriend got me for my birthday as well πŸ™‚ It makes life so much easier!
This is the folding screen I use to seal of the entrance to my domain :) Because my sewing space is in the middle of my living room and right beside my front door, everything had to be neat and tidy everytime I had people over. And as mentioned before,I hate cleaning up my mess :) So my mother gave me this folding screen, it's home made (by her) to hide everything behind it :) My mother giving me things she can't use and I can, seems to be a habit :)
This is the folding screen I use to seal off the entrance to my domain. Β Because my sewing space is in the middle of my living room and right beside my front door, everything had to be neat and tidy everytime I had people over. And as mentioned before,I hate cleaning up my mess. So my mother gave me this folding screen, it’s home made (by her) to hide everything behind it. My mother giving me things she can’t use and I can, seems to become a habit πŸ™‚
Leave a Reply

