For you February – Project Weekender Bag & Project Pajamas

8443097400_8d9abff521_h

This For You February post isn’t the most impressive one but I had fun doing it so I wanted to share it anyway.

For You February for my Dad.

It was my father’s birthday coming up and I wanted to give him something personal. He’s a Landrover Defender maniac and he goes away on weekends with a Landrover club a lot. But everytime he has to take one of my mother’s bags and they are all quite feminine. So I decided to make him a weekender bag.

I based my bag on this tutorial for a zippered box pouch. I only made it a lot bigger and added 2 handles. I wanted to incorporate the Landrover logo and decided to carve a stamp. This was also a first and I think it turned out really nice. (I am aware this is technically copyright infringement, but because it was just a gift for my father I thought what the hell.)

He was dead happy with the result and took it to work the next day to show all his colleagues what his ‘little’ girl made him πŸ™‚

stempel

tas

Note:Β As you can see on the close up of the zipper I had a little touch-and-melt between the zipper and my iron. Whoops, didn’t think about the fact that plastic zippers melt πŸ™‚

For you February for my Mom.

Remember the pajamas I made for myself? Well, my mother loved the pants so much I gave them to her. A few days later she called me saying she had a huge problem. She wasn’t able to take the pants off long enough to get them washed πŸ™‚ She wanted to live in them, they were that comfy and warm.

So I decided to make her another pair. This time I went for an off-white flannel. I saw it as a good opportunity to try out some decorative stitches on my new machine. I wanted to try flowers but my mother isn’t really the flowery type so I chose ton-sur-ton thread and went for geometric stitches instead. She loved them and now both pants are on heavy rotation.

I’m really sorry for the bad photo quality on this one, but my mother took these pictures with her iPad.

afgewerkt

details

Note:Β I have enough of this flannel and the plaid flannel left to make some for me, so yay! πŸ™‚

How is your For You February going?

2 thoughts on “For you February – Project Weekender Bag & Project Pajamas

  1. The bag for your dad is so wonderful! What a great idea for the fabric! Did you carve the stamp from rubber?

    And I don’t think anyone will accuse you of copyright violations unless you try to sell the fabric or the bags. =)

    Don’t you love it when something you make gets worn/used all the time? Such perfect gifts for your parents.

    Like

Leave a Reply

