The One with the Megan Nielsen and Rayon Knit happiness combo!

A while ago, after Paunnet’s post about her jersey Banksia there was some talk about how hard it was to find nice jersey fabric. Nice as in, sweet and floral but not childlike or granny like.

Somehow I ended up in a fabric shop yesterday (totally by accident, I didn’t mean to :p) and I decided (for once) to ask the shoplady to help me out. Normally I just wonder around looking at what they have, but this time I asked her if she had any sweet and girly jersey fabrics (without it being childlike or granny like).

We went through the lot (they just had a fresh shipping) and stumbled on this beautiful, buttery soft rayon knit. It was perfection disguised as fabric. Instant happiness. I would have bought the bolt but it was a bit pricey for that.

Without anything specific in mind, I took home 2m. On my way back home it hit me that this was the perfect fabric for a jersey Banksia but also for a Briar… I hated myself for only buying 2m but I decided to give it a try and if I didn’t have enough go back there today and get some more.

cut out

It finally took me a few tries but I managed to squeeze both patterns out of the fabric. You can imagine my happiness! I cut all my pieces and decided to keep the sewing part for today (being tired and wanting to do it right the first time around as this was such gorgeous fabric)

Here’s the result!

fabric

I didn’t change much:

– On the Briar, I left off the patch pocket. The print was enough in itself

– On the Banksia I added a band at the hem because it turned out a bit short for my liking (I actually considered not hemming it, but it felt like a crime to do this to this fabric)

 

I’ve already expressed my love for Megan Nielsen and her patterns but this was just heaven!

(I have to confess I didn’t pre-wash the fabric, oops. But I did press the living shit out of it! Pressing is another thing I only started doing after I got to know Megan Nielsen’s patterns and blog)

13 thoughts on “The One with the Megan Nielsen and Rayon Knit happiness combo!

  1. Oh, you must ALWAYS press when you sew! Glad you’ve started using your iron more. =)

    Your shirts are both really pretty in that wonderful fabric! I rather like the bottom band you added for length – it somehow balances the collar with the print.

    Like

Leave a Reply

