The One with All the Maternity and Moving Plans

The Moving Part

I haven’t been blogging much lately and that has everything to do with our big move which is coming up a month from today. I mainly keep busy by planning all the renovations which need to be done – it didn’t seem much at first but boy, was I wrong – Two weeks from today, the house will be officially ours and while we have already been doing construction work on it, it doesn’t feel like we can do anything we want just yet.

We are redoing the entire electrics – they date back to 1967, so they’re in dire need of an update, we’re putting in new hard wood floors in the entire house, redoing all the pipes for water and drains and redoing the kitchen. We’re actually stripping the kitchen and building a completely new one in a different part of the house. In september we’re having new windows put in because these date back to the 1930 and could use an upgrade to some more energy saving ones 🙂

Apart from the fact that I’ll have my own sewing room, I’ll have my own walk in closet/dressing room as well (which I’ll have to share with my soon to be hubby, but he doesn’t have that many clothes). And he basically gave me carte blanche for the kitchen 🙂

Interested on how my kitchen will look like? I love a retro interior, I inherited a complete 1960-1970’s dining room set so I wanted to keep the vibe going, especially since the house has been last modernised in the 60’s.

So yes, I basically want my kitchen to be teal/aqua. I just love it, I fell in love with it the moment I saw this picture. I even ordered the same type of cooker (although, I did that before deciding on the teal). We’ll be painting the cabinets ourselves so that if we don’t like the colour anymore in a few years, we can just choose a new colour and paint over the teal.

But before my house looks like that let me share some pictures of the house mid construction 🙂

This will be my seating room, we will be replacing the window with a window from ceiling to floor.

This will be my seating room, we will be replacing the window with a window from ceiling to floor.

This will be the kitchen.

This will be the kitchen.

My sewing room gets a window from ceiling to floor as well!

My sewing room gets a window from ceiling to floor as well!

Hubby-to-be's office space :)

Hubby-to-be’s office space 🙂

The Sewing Part

I have had time to sew while planning the house but I haven’t had the amount of time I would have wanted. I’ve made quite a few new items but the boyfriend is so busy that I’ve got no-one to take my pictures.

The hard part about sewing now is not the moving or the heat, it’s actually getting used to my changing body. It’s not like the bump is already big enough to be called an actual bump and it doesn’t ask for special maternity clothes yet but it certainly is noticeable and all my clothes are getting to tight. I’ve got one t-shirt that still fits, one skirt and one pair of pants. Luckily thanks to the heat-wave I’ve been running around in my short shorts and a bikini-top (running around the house that is). So I went through my stash and took out every piece of knit fabric I had, I went to the store and bought some more (yes, I know I’m supposed to be stash busting, but I can’t really use a lot of cotton) and made a to sew list of things I need. I’m being careful not to sew too many summer clothes because autumn starts early here and by then we’ll have moved but maybe not yet unpacked and I’ll have started a new job (hopefully) so you get my drift.

What’s on the ‘to sew’-list?

You definitely see the difference in size. And the first one had gaping, A LOT. I have proof...

You definitely see the difference in size. And the first one had gaping, A LOT. I have proof…

  1. More Tiramisu dresses (I’ve already made 2, have one more cut out and fabric for 4 more! – Blogpost on that later) Those dresses are genius. I do have to go back and fix the bodice on the first one because it’s too big but you don’t hear me complain. It takes me about 15 minutes to cut one and one hour to sew one! And they are perfect maternity wear. See colours in picture below (number 1)
  2. I have 4 colours of stretch denim in my stash and was planning on making 4 pairs of jeans like the one I made before, only raising the back just a little and adding a wider waistband, again to support the bump. See colours in picture underneath (number 2)
  3. I’ve got some yellow sweater knit left from my Owl Briar and bought two more colours in the same fabric and I’ll be using them to make some kind of sweater/cardigan. I haven’t decided on a pattern for those yet. See colours in picture underneath (number 3)
  4. About six months ago I made a punto-di-roma knit skirt. I wore it a lot through winter but it wasn’t my favorite. I wore it again this week and somehow it fits better now than it did before. It’s super comfy, superfast to make and it has a wide knit waistband to support the growing bump. See colours in picture underneath (number 4)

    The skirt pattern. Lacking explanation because it took me 2 tries to get the kind of pleats right :)

    The skirt pattern. Lacking explanation because it took me 2 tries to get the kind of pleats right 🙂

  5. I bought 5m of off-white interlock knit fabric. I pre-washed it (yes, you read that correctly) and I plan on having my own little sweat shop and making several Renfrews. I will make them a bit longer and it gives me a chance to try all sorts of embellishments. I have several knits with print in my stash and they’ll probably turn into Renfrews as well 🙂
I love ALL  the knits. This is not all - some are in the washing machine being pre-washed - and the colours are a bit different in real life. The red is less bright and the blue in n3 is actually green :)

I love ALL the knits. This is not all – some are in the washing machine being pre-washed – and the colours are a bit different in real life. The red is less bright and the blue in n3 is actually green 🙂

Each and every one of these are quick projects. But because I hate going through the motion of tracing and cutting, I’m planning on doing most of the tracing and cutting in the next few days, so that I always have something ready to be sewn. Because face it, sewing is the fun part of making your own clothes. The prep work just isn’t.

But because I have so many knits to work with in the next couple of weeks/months (I haven’t even started talking about all the cool baby patterns and fabric I have and outfits I’ve planned) I decided to follow Gillian’s advice for lazy seamstresses and invest in a cutting mat and rotary blade. Go check out her blog, she’s the queen of knits!!

9 thoughts on “The One with All the Maternity and Moving Plans

  1. Your new house looks like a great floorplan! I can’t wait to see what you do with the space! Love the aqua kitchen in the inspiration photo! I have a ’50s style kitchen that started with my aluminum edged original ’50s table I bought at a garage sale during my college years. Now I have a kitchen to go with the table. =)

    Your Tiramisu dresses look great! And it looks like you have some fun sewing ahead!

    Like

    • I can’t wait to take pictures once it is finished. I went to the hardware store today to look at paint samples and I think I found the perfect teal/aqua.

      I feel like making a list of the stuff I want to make, actually made it look more manageable. I’ve been pre-washing knits all day and I normally never pre-wash knits. But this time, I want to do it right 🙂

      Like

  2. I can so relate to the busy-ness associated with renovations – I am in the midst of renovating a 1930s apartment that had electric ranging from original to possibly 80s updates, the windows are original. I am lucky as I still have the beautiful original hardwood floors and granite floors… so much to do before mid-september when I hope to move!

    Like

    • I read on your blog that you were renovating and I can totally relate to the fact that you wanted ‘authentic’ looking light switches. Too bad my father is our electrician and my boyfriend doesn’t like to spend money on just pretty things 🙂

      Like

  3. Wow – You are so ambitious and motivated! I wish I lived nearby so I could swing over and help you out! Your kitchen sounds like it will be stunning, and I’m so excited for you that so many great things are coming together in life at the same time!

    I’m so excited (and nervous) that you are taking my advice! I really hope I’m leading you in the “right” direction! Let me know how you find your cutting mat, ok? And don’t forget to always put the safety guard down on your rotary blade! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

