The One with the Maternity Mash-Up

This is kind of a special post. Why? Because it’s the first garment made in my new house, in my new sewingroom and the first pictures taken in my own backyard!

But on to more important stuff!

20130915-163316.jpg

I wanted to recreate the dress on the right, but seriously… $159 for a jersey dress!!! No way I was going to pay that amount of money. But I think my $10 version on the left worked out perfectly!

So how did I do it?

I went through my pattern stash and pulled out these two lovely Megan Nielsen patterns. (I love her patterns!)

20130915-163655.jpg

I decided to line up the two ruched parts and blend them together. Funny thing was that both patterns called for me to make a size M, but the shirt patternpiece ended up 5cm wider than the skirt. So I took a drastic decision and decided to cut the size closest to the skirt size, which was a size XS.

The dress came together fairly easy. I basted the gathers so the front and back side seam of the dress were the same length. I pinned it all together to keep the gathers from shifting. That’s were I made a mistake. Normally I wouldn’t use pins when sewing knits on an overlock and it was late at night so to my horror I got my blade stuck on a pin. It was horrible! Luckily, I stopped my serger right on time so my blade seems a bit chipped but still cuts smoothly.

20130915-164640.jpg

To finish it off, I decided on a neckline band to keep it from gaping. It’s not gaping, but next time I’ll pull it even more flush. I even hemmed the bottom and the sleeves! I never do this on knits, but I wanted it to be finished nicely this time. So I used fusible webbing on the hems and then stitched it down with a twinneedle.

Overall I’m super happy with this dress and size wise it’s even a little loose. Fortunately it’s not too loose and I’m just going to keep it this way so that it still fits when I get bigger.

20130915-165124.jpg

I’m already getting quite big even if I haven’t gained any actual weight. I’ve already picked out fabric for a next dress and I might even add a cowl.

What do you think? Did I nail it by recreating the expensive dress or not?

18 thoughts on “The One with the Maternity Mash-Up

  1. I think you did an awesome job recreating the dress! It’s such a great look with your growing belly. I wish I had been sewing when I was pregnant. The stuff I wore was so boring.

    And congratulations on sewing in your new home and I like the backyard pictures!

    Like

    • I’m so happy that I know how to sew because affordable maternity clothes are plain aweful 🙂 good thing about this dress is that even if my next pregnancy is in another season, I can still wear it cause it’s jersey 🙂

      Like

  2. What an awesome job!!! Your knockoff is even better than the original you copied – I love your neckline and the fabric you used!

    I think it will look great on you even after the baby is born because it looks so cute on the dress form too! (That is, if you don’t wear it to pieces before then!)

    For future serging, you can either pin parallel to the fabric edge (so you can’t chop any pins in the blade) and remove as they reach the foot, or you can machine baste your gathers before serging and then just remove the basting stitches once it is serged. If you think you need to, you can sand/file the nick in your blade down a little. I think everyone chops at least one pin when they first start getting used to a serger. =)

    I can’t even express how much I love this dress on you!

    Like

    • I still don’t understand how I did it. I’m so careful about my pins. I blame being tired 🙂 I think I’ll baste the gathers next time. This way I can insert the sleeves flat before I sew the side seams 🙂

      Like

  3. Its fabulous! It looks so good on you, and I WISH I had the print in my stash! It’s great! Are you going to make more versions of the same dress now that you’ve figured it out?

    Like

  4. I think your copy is much better than the original.. who needs a plain dress when you can make one with such an awesome print? The colours are so pretty, and the match your new backyard perfectly 😉

    Like

  5. It looks fabulous! I agree that maternity fashion is grossly overpriced. I’m almost considering starting a business making custom maternity basics for a more reasonable price. Except that Dutch labour is more expensive than factory labour…
    Can’t wait to see more pretty dresses from your fabric haul!

    Like

  6. I just wanted to stop by and tell you, that I did not notice your baby bump at first! Crazy right? Cause the side-picture clearly shows you’re wonderfully pregnant. But from the front I wouldn’t have thought so! Great choice of pattern placement I guess 😉

    Like

  7. Pingback: Maternity make – Cute Cara | Love - Teach - Sew

Leave a Reply

