The One with All the Maternity sewing

So, I’m back and I need to get some posts out of the way. I’ve decided to stop waiting for good pictures before I blog about all my past makes. Winter is coming and we still have no central heating so changing clothes once a day is painful enough, let alone go through it several times to pose for pictures. I do have a remote and a tripod by now, but I feel guilty using them for new pictures before I’ve blogged about everything else.

Overthinking it much?

Before I start showing you all the pictures I feel pretty confident in saying that I’m totally over maternity sewing. It SUCKS! It’s great when you need a new dress for a party, but basically you end up sewing a whole lot of stuff that won’t even fit you after a few weeks. And I know that I told myself that I would be wearing them after I gave birth but that’s one option I got over quickly.

Second of all, when I sew something I want people to be able to see. And it’s so freaking cold that I have to layer it with not one but multiple items so I end up wearing my home made garment but with nothing to show for.

So I decided that I would just try to get through the rest of my pregnancy with the clothes I already had. This includes my giant stash of sweater dresses which made me look chubby before, but now make me look pregnant. And that’s a win in my book.

Last of all is that I just looked at some pre-pregnancy shots and I can honestly say that my body wasn’t all that bad before, I just hope to get it back. I can’t really complain as the extra weight is only on my belly. Which doesn’t make me look pregnant from the back, but does make me look (and feel) like a whale when I look at myself from the side or the front.

So here goes…

1

All made using Megan Nielsen’s Ruched Maternity Shirt pattern

All Washi dresses (hacks) - I made the yellow one this summer and finally decided to shorten it to a tunic.

All Washi dresses (hacks) – I made the yellow one this summer and finally decided to shorten it to a tunic.

The skirts I made with a wide knit band and an outfit I was able to wear before it got cold.

The skirts I made with a wide knit band and an outfit I was able to wear before it got cold.

Before you say “you don’t look like a whale”… These pics were all taken a few weeks ago.. You should see me now.

I’m not saying I won’t make anymore maternity clothes but I’ve given in to buying a coat and buying some long camis and some pants. With everything going on I just didn’t have the time to make all of them and I really needed them because it’s that cold.

I’m already planning my new post-maternity wardrobe, I’ve got lots of patterns and fabric at the ready. I might have to stick to knit dresses and nursing friendly tops for a while. But at least, it’ll be (almost) normal sized me again πŸ™‚

That being said, I love my little baby so much!

(Unless it kicks my stomach or ribs, which makes me nauseous)

14 thoughts on “The One with All the Maternity sewing

  1. I think those dresses definitely make you look – pregnant ;-).
    Seriously, congratulations about those many projects that you pulled off. I think you are an incredibly prolific maternity sewer.

    Like

  2. I know what you mean about maternity clothes. I eyed that Megan Neilsen pattern pretty hard, but ultimately decided to cheat and buy a couple of nice shirts instead. It just feels like a lot of work for such a short period of time. They sure turned out cute though, so I wouldn’t say the effort was wasted. πŸ™‚

    I don’t miss the days before central heat, for sure. Do you have a fireplace? Or is your furnace just busted? If you have a fireplace/woodstove, hedge (sometimes called Osage Orange) is best for burning hot–it pops and cracks, doesn’t smell at that fantastic either, but it’s the best for heat. We also did plastic on the windows, which really helps keep the drafts down if you live in an old farmhouse like I grew up with.

    Like

    • We don’t have central heating yet because we’re doing construction on our house. This went slower than originally planned but we hope to have the heating up in a week or two.

      I am happy with the stuff Inmade, I just think that sewing wise it would have been more practical if I had been pregnant in summer πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I think you made a great wardrobe. I also hate it when it’s too cold to show of new makes. Fingers crossed for your heating situation. I hope it gets better (otherwise you can come and sew in my studio, if you like)

    Like

    • That’s really sweet. I’ve actually moved my temporary sewing room into the temporary living room because that one is easier to heat with the electric heater. I’ve also re-ordered all my patterns and fabric so the one I’ll need the coming months is close to the sewing area. I did have to sacrifice my cutting table for now, but I’ll think of something πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. you are such a stylish mummy-to-be! i didn’t sew when i was PG but i don’t think i would have made many maternity things for the same reason as you. the ones you have made look fantastic tho!

    Like

    • You’re so sweet! I wouldn’t do it again, that’s for sure. I haven’t used most of my maternity patterns because they were for second and third trimester pregnancy, but now it’s too cold for them πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Impressive maternity wardrobe… and I’m very curious if you can manage to make the post-maternity wardrobe you have in mind! I got to making about two items since my boy was born. Almost two years ago! (But maybe the renovation of the house and getting my sewing machine out on the cluttered kitchen table is one of the reasons I don’t get to sewing anymore…)

    Like

    • I’m planning on making part of the post maternity wardrobe the weeks before the baby is due. I’m going on maternity leave six weeks before my due date and I don’t think I’ll be able to do much else. And since my hips haven’t enlarged and I’m mostly planning knit wrap dresses, I think I might get away with it πŸ™‚

      Like

      • That’s a good idea! But are you sure your hips didn’t enlarge? I thought so as well, but when I tried on a pair of jeans in my sixth month, I could get them over my thighs! (And: at six months I just got my pre-pregnancy weight again, I lost a few kilo’s due to “morning”sickness…)

        Like

      • I tried on my old jeans a week or two ago and they still fit fine over my hips and bottom, they just won’t zip up where my belly is πŸ™‚ I couldn’t believe it so I took my tape measurer and my hips are exactly the same as before I got pregnant.

        Like

  6. Wow! All of these are fabulous. I never managed to have enough time to make up the Washi dress but it looks like a superb maternity dress. And I love all those skirts. What great colors to brighten the dreary winter.

    Like

  7. Pregnancy is the one time that you can get away with being as big as needed without anyone batting an eye. I think you should enjoy it while you can! You’re maternity wardrobe is so much nicer than mine ever was. I hope you are enjoying all the lovely clothes, even if they are covered by warmer layers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

