What I hope to learn in 2014.

I said before that I wasn’t going to make any plans for my sewing. I’m still not making any plans although I am thinking about possibilities and using Pinterest as my inspiration board.

I don’t want to get caught up in self imposed deadlines or plans like last year. (Seamless Pledge went very well, stashbusting was a total fail)

I realise that with the new baby my sewing time will be limited, so I have to make a choice between fast fashion (aka the serger-knits happiness combo) or working on my skills.
I’m leaning more towards the latter. Now that I’m good with the basics, I want to focus on quality over quantity. I’m not talking about tailoring or very lenghty difficult projects, but I want to focus more on different and proper finishes of garments. So my clothes will be very pretty both in and outside. (This does not mean I won’t be sewing any more fast fashion, sometimes a girl just needs instant gratification)

I’ve gotten and bought a lot of sewing books over Christmas and I really enjoy learning new things. I can’t wait to try them out and experiment.

If you happen to know any must have/must read books, just let me know!

4 thoughts on “What I hope to learn in 2014.

  1. I can’t remember if you have Vogue Sewing or not. If you don’t, it is definitely one you need (doesn’t matter if it’s the newest version)! It’s the go-to book for all the basics and I work with people who own copies from decades ago and still use them. The updates are mainly for pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

