The One with the Wardrobe Malfunction

In the last two weeks I’ve realised two major things:

1. My wardrobe is completely unfit for breastfeeding. I’ve got two dresses which are slighty breastfeeding friendly but that’s it.

2. Although I’m almost back to my pre-pregnancy size I’ve still got a few inches to go. Apart from that I’ve gained quite a few kilos over the past 5 years and they’ve never made me feel good about myself. Combine that with my new role as a mother and the fact that I’m on the wrong side of 25 and we’ve got grounds for a serious wardrobe/identity crisis.

I’ve shed quite a few tears about this in the past two weeks, maybe more than was necessary but I blame the hormones and lack of sleep.

When I started thinking about a new wardrobe I was a bit overwhelmed and didn’t know where to start. That’s why I’m happy the Wardrobe Architect Series kicked in. I know I’m late to the party, but only fashionably late 🙂 I’ve already caught up with the series but I won’t overload you with all three weeks at once.

The Wardrobe Architect

Stay tuned for the update!

9 thoughts on “The One with the Wardrobe Malfunction

  1. Hey hon! Sounds STRESSFUL! If you are anything like me, then part of that stress probably comes from wanting something I can control amongst so much i can’t, and wanting to define myself as ME in the middle of getting redefined as a mother! I don’t know if that’s true for you too, but it definitely would be the key issue for me!
    I don’t have any experience with what you are going through, but I hope that you feel inspired by the Wardrobe Architect series, and you HAVE FUN making new clothes when you can! Mwah!

    Like

  2. {{{{hugs}}}} So many new life changes and lack of sleep will definitely make you dislike yourself! You are beautiful (inside and out!) and you have a beautiful new baby. And you know what the best part of having a wardrobe crisis? New clothes! Relax and have fun with finding your new personal style. =)

    Like

  3. Stephanie, please don’t be too hard on yourself, you’ve just gone through one of the biggest things you can do in this life. Have fun with your little girl and sew when you get a chance. Pick up a few things rtw in the meantime to tide you over, there’s no shame in that. The great thing about breastfeeding is it helps you lose weight. It’s early days yet, ‘they’ say to give yourself 9 months post partum to get back to ‘normal’.

    Like

  4. Don’t be too hard on yourself – and remember that you made the most beautiful creation ever! You will get back to how you want to see yourself soon, don’t make yourself more miserable by trying to get there really quickly. Just enjoy the time you have to spend with your daughter and everything else will fall into place… (ps i’m the wrong side of 35, so you’ve got 10 years on me!!)

    Like

  5. I breast fed 2 kids with *no* special clothes other than a nursing bra. I just wore a lot of (existing) separates and lifted my top up or unbuttoned a few buttons to deal with feeding baby.

    Go easy on yourself, it’s a hard time specially if this is #1. Use your local breast feeding support group – saved my sanity 🙂 Get plenty of sleep and be prepared for you time to take a back seat for a while.

    Like

    1. My problem is that I don’t have a lot of separates, I’m more a dresses kind of girl. I need the sewing to stay sane, seeing it’s hard to leave the house with a tiny baby. I’m not planning on making special nursing wear, just new clothes which can double as nursing wear.

      Like

  6. This only really works with separates, but I found that wearing looser tops, or button through ones, with a cami underneath worked well. I would pull up the top, pull down the cami, and unclip my bra. It gave coverage (and warmth in winter) for my tummy. And you don’t need any specific clothes. I still wear the camis 4 years later! Buy or make some cheap ones so that if you stretch them out of shape, it doesn’t matter. The tops don’t need to be loose (if you want to make wear them in future), it just makes things easier.

    And don’t despair! I wore the same Breton top nearly every day after my son was born! It would be washed, dried and back on the next day until it pretty much fell apart!

    PS I am expecting my second child now and will be 40 later this year, so god only knows what my hormones are going to throw at me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

