Wardrobe Architect Week 6

Questions for this week: How do I transform my list of colours into a wearable palette? Which colours do I need more of and which do I need less of.
Which colours do I consider true neutrals, which are nearly neutrals and which are my accent colours.

True neutrals
These are the colours I would wear for camis and leggings. Apart from the black and the midnight I wouldn’t wear them as a solid single garment (a sweater, pants, etc) because they are too boring.

20140220-194956.jpg

Nearly neutrals
These are the colours I wear on a daily basis and for every piece of clothing. These are the colours I feel most comfortable in.

20140220-195123.jpg

Accent colours
I don’t like very bright colours, so my accent colours aren’t really bright either. They are colours I like but find harder to coordinate with the rest of my wardrobe or which I like for certain items of clothing but not for everything. (I would never wear salmon pants for example)

20140220-195336.jpg

I can’t wait to see what next week brings. I haven’t been sewing yet, but I have been doing a lot of tracing and cutting patterns and assembling PDF patters. You know, the prep work. This way I’m ready by the time I know what to sew πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Wardrobe Architect Week 6

  1. All that prep work is so very organised! I am so impressed – and with a small baby around. You should salute yourself (and maybe buy yourself some fabric, given that alcohol still might be off the menue for the time being πŸ™‚ ) .
    By the way: is there a fancy little app that tells you the English names for all those colours? Or do you just simple know them? I;m asking because I find it so hard to name colours in English – clearly the school where I was taught was not very artistic…

    Like

    1. The prep work is all I get done with the baby around because she needs me too often for me to really focus on sewing right now, but I don’t mind, she’s too cute πŸ™‚ And alcohol is indeed still off the menue, you can’t imagine how much I crave a mojito sometimes πŸ™‚ luckily, virgin mojitos taste just the same πŸ˜‰ I don’t know if there is a fancy little app, but I’m an English teacher so that’s probably why I know them, but it would be nice to have an app though πŸ™‚ Speaking of apps, someone should invent an app translating all the fabric types because I only know them in English and the sales ladies at my fabric store clearly don’t speak any English πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. haha, I’m just the same. I tried to find the German for “hair canvas” – clearly it is not “Haarbaumwolle” nobody had any clue what I was talking about and so I won’t be buying any of it any time soon. Oh well… πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

