The One with the Perfect Scarf

If there is one thing I love, it’s an infinity scarf. They are so easy to wear and never fall off.

I’ve had the scarf on the left for a few years now and I love wearing it in Spring and Autumn. It really makes a solid outfit pop. Only problem is that it doesn’t match a lot of my clothes (yet, I’ve got a matching Lady Skater planned)

20140407-202732.jpg

So today I was in dire need of a quick project and my precious fabric was the answer. My 9m bolt were actually 2 pieces. One 7,20m and the other 1,80m. I decided to use the smaller piece for the scarf and prewash it to see what effect it would have on my fabric. Apart from the fact that it frays like hell, it got very soft and quite drapey. It is quite thick so making a gathered skirt is out of the question.

Sewing this thing only took 5 minutes. I used the fabric from selvedge to selvedge so I only have one seam. I opted for a French seam because this fabric frays a lot!

I’m happy with the way it turned out, although it is quite bulky. I might make it less wide, but I’m not sure yet.

It does coordinate nicely with most of ‘my colours’.

20140407-203245.jpg

And it’s not just usable as a scarf!

20140407-203820.jpg

I’m sure I’ll get a ton of wear out of this!

PS Sorry about the blurry phonepics but I just couldn’t wait to show you this!

5 thoughts on “The One with the Perfect Scarf

  1. yay for simple projects! i find my biggest problem is knowing when to stop making these infinity scarves, I have a bunch and I keep making them, but then I wear them pretty much every day as I am always cold

    Like

  2. so much possibilities for only 5 minutes of sewing, wow! I love how it looks as a shrug, so perhaps you shouldn’t shorten it? Or could you still wear it as shrug if you do?

    Like

Leave a Reply

