Fall/Winter 2015 Maternity Capsule Wardrobe

I wanted to blog about another wrap dress I made but the weather and a teething 20 month old got in the way for now. So while you eagerly await those pictures, let me tell you about my sewing plans for this Fall/Winter.

My maternity makes were all over the place last time and I’ve ditched them all. There just wasn’t anything special about them and they didn’t coordinate at all. I’ve been meaning to make a capsule wardrobe for ages but so far it’s proven harder than I expected , seeing I like to start from scratch but I don’t want to throw out any of my clothes…

So with almost no maternity clothes left and Fall just around the corner, I’ve decided to do a quick brainstorm on what to make.

I’ve known what type of clothes I’ve wanted to wear for quite some time, so all it really took was some sketching and shopping the stash.

FW15 Capsule Wardrobe

If you click on the picture to enlarge it, you can really see the texture of each fabric! (Colour is a bit off though)

As you can see, it’s a whole lot less ‘computer-y’ than last time and for three good reasons.
1) After 8 years of loyal service, my iMac died and I decided to get a Chromebook as a replacement while I save up for a new Mac. So I’ve got none of my previous programs available (I miss my Photoshop)
2) I didn’t feel like spending days working on this, I just needed something visual, fast.
3) I wanted to give drawing a chance and see how I would cope with less than perfect drawings. (The answer is ‘quite well’)

My method this time.

First I decided on a colourscheme. I’ve been really into raspberry lately and navy has always been my go to colour, so it didn’t take long.

11904653_10153629171603413_8703576870882136368_n

Then I traced one of Megan Nielsen’s previous cover art pics (I still adore them) to make a basic croquis to work from. I scanned it and multiplied it in Powerpoint, so I had croquis pages to work from.

8D9C6E89-9B98-4776-846E-ADF02C89D3AB

Then I just started sketching until I had 7 outfits I liked.

02BF3C9F-E567-4535-8AC2-592F3AF16543

All that was left to do was shop the stash. Worked really well too, I just have to get some more of the off-white sweatshirt fleece. I tried combining different textures with different types of fabric. I’ve got wool, viscose, sweater knits, French Terry, faux-silk, etc… I’m really excited to venture away from plain cotton and regular jersey πŸ˜‰

IMG_3925

I’m really happy with the result of the ‘study’ and I’ll tell you more about each individual piece when it gets made!

6 thoughts on “Fall/Winter 2015 Maternity Capsule Wardrobe

  1. This is a great plan. I’m slowly working toward a core wardrobe, but have taken it as a piece by piece approach. I’d like to try having a bigger picture with several looks I’m going for.

    Like

  2. I love your sketches! There is something really charming about hand drawn as opposed to computer perfect. Can’t wait to see your outfits come to life!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Maternity make – Cosy Colours Cardigan | Love - Teach - Sew

  4. Pingback: Self awareness in planning and organization |

Leave a Reply

