The challenge in the laundry conundrum!

Thanks for your responses on yesterday´s post, I´m glad to hear that I´m not the only one.

I finished laundry today (yes, it took me two days…) and the advantage of having all your clothes clean at the same time is that you can really really look at them.

I´ve decided to conduct a little experiment:

I selected the clothes that I liked best out of my entire wardrobe. This wasn´t as easy as I thought because most of my beloved clothes are either too small or not suitable for breastfeeding. Of the ones left, I selected the items on the rack in the picture.

image

I´m going to try and work with these clothes only for the next two weeks. I figured that if I have two weeks worth of clothes, I have my bases for summer covered. (Belgian summer = every type of weather imaginable but mostly rain and very humid)

Does this mean I will not sew for the next two weeks (or afterwards)?

Ofcourse not BUT when I sew it should follow these rules:

  • I need that item of clothing (i.e. I do not own shorts, I should sew shorts)
  • I´ve already cut out the pieces (i.e I cut out a pair of Hudson Pants over the weekend, they can still get sewn)
  • I can refashion items that otherwise would not get worn or would be thrown away (i.e. I have some t-shirts I like but don´t wear because the neckline gapes or they are slightly too long = easy alterations)

My goal is not to have a small mix-and-match wardrobe in the end, because mix-and-match doesn´t work for me. But I want to have a smaller workable wardrobe filled with pieces that´ll actually get worn.

What do you think? Crazy or doable?

 

 

8 thoughts on “The challenge in the laundry conundrum!

  1. I think that sounds very doable indeed – in fact I think this could really work. Two weeks’ worth of clothes really is all one needs, the rest is just stuff one wants, isn’t it. I do appreciate the irony of saying that while trial-wearing my new high-summer jumpsuit, which is one in a line of many jumpsuits…

    Like

  2. totally doable! good luck! you might also want to check out project 333. you choose 33 items total from your wardrobe (excluding underwear, nightwear and workout gear – but you cant wear the workout gear for anything other than working out) and the challenge is to wear only those for 3 months.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Laundry Challenge Week 1: Round-up | Love - Teach - Sew

  4. Pingback: Laundry Challenge Week 2: Round-up | Love - Teach - Sew

Leave a Reply

