Laundry Challenge Week 1: Round-up

I´m halfway through my Laundry Challenge (read all about it here) and it´s going really well.

I put the rack of clothing right next to my bed so I can see all my clothes when still lying in bed. It makes me really happy each night and each morning to see them hanging there and deciding what I want to wear.

Big Win Number One: I´m excited about wearing my clothes.

I´ve noticed that since there are fewer items to choose from, I don´t get overwhelmed, don´t feel the need to change 500 times and I´m instantly happy with the choices made.

Big Win Number Two: Time saving.

I´ve felt great each day. I hadn´t been feeling all that well these last couple of weeks/months and I know I said I wasn´t going to care about the extra weight but I still do. I don´t want to, but deep down, the extra weight made me feel sad and I felt like I had nothing that made me look good. By choosing the stuff that I liked/loved, I´ve felt great each day the whole week. That´s the first time in months!

Big Win Number Three: Feeling better about my body!

I´ve already refashioned some me-mades that didn´t get worn. Two of those have now been worn and deemed ¨successfull¨.

Screenshot 2016-07-20 at 12.23.53

Big Win Number Four: More love and less waste!

The Outfits!

Screenshot 2016-07-20 at 12.24.14

I started off my week with an RTW outfit. This tunic dress is actually a night gown I bought as a birthing shirt 2 years ago. I bought two and this one didn´t get worn in the hospital so I kept it and I love wearing it with navy blue leggings. It´s comfortable and breezy and I´ve copied the shirt a few times. It´s not really suitable for nursing but since I spend most days at home it´s not really a problem.

Screenshot 2016-07-20 at 12.23.33

This skirt was my first refashion of the week. I call it refashion, you could call it an alteration. I love the fabric for this skirt and used the Myrtle skirt lengthened into a maxi as a pattern. At the time I thought it was a good idea to just use an elastic waistband but it turned out too high waisted and it was never really comfortable. I think I wore it once or twice last Spring but it just didn´t work as it was. So I took off the waistband and added a yoga style waistband instead. It´s still a maxi skirt (even slightly longer now since it sits on my hips) but it´s much more comfortable. I really like the fact that this waistband doesn´t show under my tops.

The t-shirt I´m wearing is actually the traced version of the tunic I wore on day 1. It´s supercomfortable and matches this skirt perfectly, but it didn´t get worn much because it was slightly too short to wear with regular skirts or pants.

Screenshot 2016-07-20 at 12.23.16

These trousers are my tester version of the Paprika Patterns Amber trousers. I loved wearing them but they are slightly too big and the front crotch was too short. This has been changed in the final pattern so I think I just need to sew a new version of these. Because they are too big around the hips they make my legs look really short. (and they aren´t all that long to begin with)

Top is a simple RTW shirt. I was in doubt between picking this one (think Closet Case files Nettie with scoop neck and medium back) and a more loose fitting dartless woven blouse. I felt great in this t-shirt so when the sales lady told me I should go with the dartless blouse because I needed to hide my big boobs and tummy, I bought two of these t-shirts. I haven´t regretted it for a second 😀

Screenshot 2016-07-20 at 12.22.56

I made this dress last year after getting pregnant. I was over the moon with this dress but somehow it got pushed to the back of my closet and each time I wanted to wear this, it just didn´t feel right. Somehow, now it did and I felt amazing all day!

Screenshot 2016-07-20 at 12.22.37

I made three muslins for Simplicity 1064. This is the result after I took it in 8cms on each side. I´ve gone down 3 sizes (to the smallest size in the pattern) since and it still doesn´t fit like I want it to. This one is comfortable but I need to wear a top underneath because otherwise it´s the most indecent piece of clothing ever… I do like the silhouette with the leggings though, so I´m going to let it simmer for a while to see if I want to revisit the pattern.

Screenshot 2016-07-20 at 12.22.17

I had been saying for weeks that I needed shorts so when temperatures went up that day I had no choice but to make some during baby naptime. True Bias Hudson pattern to the rescue! I´m glad I did, they are not perfect but since I don´t often wear shorts they are good enough and will get worn a lot.

The t-shirt is another one based on the tunic from the first day but the twin needle hem came undone after a couple of wears and it has always been slightly too long. I shortened it by 2,5¨ and it´s much better now!

Screenshot 2016-07-20 at 12.22.00

This maxi skirt was part of a Myrtle maxi dress but the white top part got stained so it didn´t look nice anymore. I had a two seam tunic in the same fabric so I shortened the tunic to a top and used the chopped off fabric to turn this chopped of skirt into a maxi skirt with yoga style waistband! I thought about dying it because I wasn´t sure I still liked the taupe stripes but I decided to wear it out first and then decided.

The top is a Seamwork Mesa shortened into a top and given a much larger neckline. Same problem here, it turned out slightly too short so it didn´t get worn. Problem solved.

Screenshot 2016-07-20 at 12.21.43

They predicted super high temperatures for the next three days so I wanted something really breezy to wear. I had already taped the Groove Dress pattern so I altered the neckline and armholes based on an RTW tank in order to create a flowy tank dress. I added a binding to the neckline and armholes. I left the hem raw because it doesn´t fray and because it dips lower in back and front than the sides do and I wasn´t looking forward to hemming all those curves. It was the perfect dress to wear on a very hot summers’day, sadly I managed to get massively sunburned so I have to spend the last hot day inside.

What I´ve learned so far:

  • I love pockets in clothes but somehow I´m too lazy to add them.
  • I prefer low necklines.
  • I keep forgetting to take my boobs into account when decided on a t-shirt length.
  • Accessories finish off an outfit!

I´m looking forward to what next week brings!

4 thoughts on “Laundry Challenge Week 1: Round-up

  1. I’ve been loving seeing your posts on IG! It’s like the informal, not overwhelming version of MMM! (Also, you are one of the only bloggers i know who wears as much rayon jersey as I do! 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: Laundry Challenge Week 2: Round-up | Love - Teach - Sew

Leave a Reply

