What can I say? I love planning.

Since finishing up my Laundry Challenge I´ve been thinking hard about my Autumn/Winter wardrobe. For me Autumn starts on Septembre 1st AKA First Day of School.

Since I´ll likely be starting at a new school ( I´m still hoping for a job at my old school, but I´m being realistic) , I´ll have tons of new prep work to do in September (and afterwards) so it´s not likely I´ll have a lot of time to sew, especially since it´ll be my first time going back to work since having baby 2.

Keeping in mind that:

  • Autumn/Winter 2015 = pregnant
  • Autumn/Winter 2014 = same weight as now, but I threw all those clothes away when I lost the weight
  • Autumn/Winter 2013 = pregnant
  • Autumn/Winter 2012 (and before) = 30 lbs lighter

you´ll understand why I need to sew some new clothes.

I´ve been going over what I have, which is mostly long sleeved t-shirts and cardigans, and came up with a Sewing Plan to fill in the gaps. This plan might seem elaborate but they are simple shapes mostly from patterns I´ve sewn before (and loved).

I´m aiming towards more classic pieces, mostly fairly neutral, in nicer fabric qualities.

IMG_4582 (1)

This time I tried to sketch silhouettes/outfits and match them immediately to fabric I had in my stash (all apart from the silk). This makes the whole thing a lot more visual and easier to see as a whole.

IMG_4579

Left to right:

  • Outfit 1: White faux silk True Bias Ogden Cami + Olive stretch crepe True Bias Emerson Crop Pant
  • Outfit 2: Black silk dupioni circle skirt (self-drafted) + black/white striped Closet Case Files Nettie bodysuit + emerald cardigan (self-drafted)
  • Outfit 3: Rayon jersey tunic + matching cotton jersey Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings

 

IMG_4580

Left to right:

  • Dress 1: Navy/white polka dot rayon challis True Bias Southport Dress
  • Dress 2: Raspberry stretch crepe True Bias Colfax Dress
  • Dress 3: Missoni-esque jersey wrap dress with wide sleeves (pattern to be determined)

 

IMG_4578

Left to right:

  • Outfit 1: Coral sweater knit jumper (Megan Nielsen hack) + Blue faux suede Colette Ginger skirt
  • Oufit 2: Raspberry rayon jersey tee + gold sparkle denim dungaree dress (Pattern to be determined)
  • Outfit 3: Black rayon jersey Cashmerette Appleton Top + Closet Case Files Ginger skinny jeans (mid-rise)

 

You may have noticed that most of these outfits aren´t BF friendly. I´ve done this deliberately. Keeping in mind that I don´t like BF clothes and these clothes will be mostly to wear to work, I thought it wouldn´t really matter if these were less (or not) accessible. This way, I´ll hopefull still like them when I´m done nursing.

I´m really excited about these outfits and I can´t wait to get started. I´m even going to do it the right way, muslins, FBA´s and all.

What do you think? Are you preparing for Autumn already?  What are you sewing?

PS: When I think back on how I started making my sewing plans I realise I´ve come a long way. Scared of a pencil after being traumatised in art school, I´ve realised that doing it by hand makes it so much more relax. I´ve sketched these by hand before but this time I wanted to visually match them to my fabric choices and pulled out the fancy pencils I bought in art school. I really really love how this turned out and even if they are very amateuristic compared to my closest sewing friends, I´m really happy with the imperfections. Skin and hair made it much more real to me.

10 thoughts on “What can I say? I love planning.

  1. Those are beautiful choices! I like your choice to make some higher-end pices with nice fabric – I think that’ll really pay off into clothes you feel chic wearing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. your scetches are amazing – they really make your ideas come to life. And matching them with stash fabric is a stroke of genius, I think. This way it`ll all be planned out in your head and you can get right down to sewing immediately. Looking forward to seeing your makes!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m impressed! I could see myself possibly doing the planning, but not carrying it out, but I’m sure you’ll get there. Good luck, looking forward to seeing the finished outfits!
    BTW, what’s BF short for?

    Like

  4. Your sketches are way better than many I’ve had to use by some designers I’ve worked with! They are beautifully clear and simple to understand, and your fabric choices are great! Can’t wait to see them made up for real!

    Like

      • Designers are just the “idea” people. It’s the job of everyone else on the creative team to bring those ideas to life. Some designers even have someone to do the illustrations/sketches for them. (And many designers have little to no sewing skills.)

        Like

  5. Pingback: Monday Morning Secret Pajamas | Love - Teach - Sew

Leave a Reply

