The One with the Blog Voice

Lady Katza has revived the Blog Voices meme and I’m very curious about all of your accents and the way you pronounce the words.

I’m not a native speaker but I am an English teacher and I’m very curious about my accent. I love English and everything involved and I actually feel just as comfortable using English as I am using Dutch. I almost exclusively read in English, watch TV in English and listen to music in English. A lot of the times I can’t even recall wether I read something in English or in Dutch.

I think I inherited my love for English (and languages in general) from my mother who’s a German-English translator (my German sucks btw). I’ve picked it up when I was very young, spend some summers in England and never stopped loving it. Give me anything to do with the English language or history and I’m a happy girl. (By English I mean: British/Irish/American…)

Here’s the list of words and some questions I answered in Dutch (Because I’d have to look them up in English and that’s cheating)

List of Words:

Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

List of Questions:

What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house? I don’t think we have a word for it, I’ve only ever seen it done in American films 🙂

What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball? “Een pissebed” And I’ve never tried touching it to see if it works 🙂
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called? “Frisdrank”
What do you call gym shoes? “Sportschoenen of sneakers”
What do you say to address a group of people? “Hoi! Hey!”
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs? “Een hooiwagen”
What do you call your grandparents? “Oma en opa ? Vake en Moeke”
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket? ” Een karreke”
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining? “Kermis in d’hel”
What is the thing you change the TV channel with? “Het kaske of de zapper”

 

PS I would just like to say that I think my voice sounds softer in English than it does in Dutch but that might have more to do with the fact that Dutch is a harsher language 🙂

6 thoughts on “The One with the Blog Voice

  1. You speak wonderful English! For a long time, I didn’t know you weren’t a native English speaker because you write so well in English – you are just as clear in your speech as you are in your writing! Not really British or American sounding (you probably sound Dutch) but perfectly clear. =)

    I’m planning to join in the meme when I have some time this weekend.

    Hope the rest of your move goes well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

